Winner of 2009 Louis Martz Prize

January 25, 2012

The Louis Martz Prize for 2009 has been awarded to Andrew J. Krivak, for his editing of The Letters of William Carlos Williams to Edgar Irving Williams, 1902-1912 (Farleigh Dickinson UP).

From Amazon:

This book recovers the earliest epistolary activity of one of America’s most innovative and influential modernist poets. From 1902 to 1912, William Carlos Williams wrote more than 300 letters to his younger brother Edgar, an accomplished architect with whom Williams shared the desire to become ‘a great artist’. This collection of 200 letters sheds new light on the aesthetic thoughts and practices with which Williams was engaged for a full decade before his unique voice emerged in the forerunner to Paterson, ‘The Wanderer’ (1914). Providing a comprehensive introduction, exhaustive annotation, images of poetry and artwork, and hundreds of letters never before seen by scholars, this critical edition provides substantially new material on Williams and will be an important addition to the study of early American modernism.

The Williams Society and its membership would like to thank the efforts of both sets of judges for their cooperation and dedication in assessing the year’s work, and we would also like to offer our collective thanks to Scott Peterson for making the existence of these prizes possible.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: