The Louis Martz Prize for 2009 has been awarded to Andrew J. Krivak, for his editing of The Letters of William Carlos Williams to Edgar Irving Williams, 1902-1912 (Farleigh Dickinson UP).

From Amazon:

This book recovers the earliest epistolary activity of one of America’s most innovative and influential modernist poets. From 1902 to 1912, William Carlos Williams wrote more than 300 letters to his younger brother Edgar, an accomplished architect with whom Williams shared the desire to become ‘a great artist’. This collection of 200 letters sheds new light on the aesthetic thoughts and practices with which Williams was engaged for a full decade before his unique voice emerged in the forerunner to Paterson, ‘The Wanderer’ (1914). Providing a comprehensive introduction, exhaustive annotation, images of poetry and artwork, and hundreds of letters never before seen by scholars, this critical edition provides substantially new material on Williams and will be an important addition to the study of early American modernism.

The Williams Society and its membership would like to thank the efforts of both sets of judges for their cooperation and dedication in assessing the year’s work, and we would also like to offer our collective thanks to Scott Peterson for making the existence of these prizes possible.


The recipient of this year’s Louis Martz Prize, generously funded by Dr. Scott Peterson, is Irene Hsiao’s essay, “Early William Carlos Williams: Bad Keats?” which appeared in volume 37 of The Cambridge Quarterly (2008).

Judges Peter Schmidt, Lisa Steinman, and August Kleinzahler praised Hsiao’s essay as “particularly provocative and original in its attention to the sonnet form and the evolution of form in Williams’s early poetry; it thus revisited the relationship between Keats and Williams in interesting ways.” The judges also awarded an honorable mention to Ian Flanagan’s essay, “Hearing the American Voice: Thomas Kinsella and William Carlos Williams,” which appeared in the Irish Studies Review (V. 16.3, August 2008).  The Society congratulates both Hsiao and Flanagan for their fine contributions to the field of Williams Studies, and also thanks our three judges for their hard work.

The Scott Peterson Prize for best essay in the William Carlos Williams Review for 2008 will be announced next year.

Since 2008 the Scott Peterson Prize and the Louis Martz Prize of $500 have each been awarded respectively to the best work published on Williams in the William Carlos Williams Review and outside the journal.